Brief History

The Directorate of Facilities Management was established upon restructuring of the University Governance structure in 2021.

It was as a result of merging previous departments namely: Estates, Transport and Garage and Construction and Maintenance.

The Directorate is divided into three sections reflecting different professional sections:

  1. Property and Utilities  Management Section
  2. Facilities Development, Maintenance and Compliance Section
  3. Fleet and Logistics Management Section

The Directorate is one of the departments/ Directorates in Central Administration which supports the University’s core mandate of Teaching, Learning and Research functions.

The Directorate offers support to Teaching faculties in form of:

a)         Property and Utilities Management

-Space Management

            - Utilities Management

-Housing Management

            - Environment Management

b)         Facilities Development, Maintenance and Compliance

            - Design and management of Construction works and Contracts

            - Maintenance of facilities including Buildings, Plants and Equipment


c)         Fleet and Logistic Management

            - Provision of Transport Services

            - Maintenance of the University fleet

            -Specification of Vehicle acquisition and disposal


The Directorate is headed by a Director Mr. Tracisio Thuita and supported by three Heads of Sections:

  1. Qs. Andrew Mbuku -  Facilities Development, Maintenance and Compliance Section
  2. Maiko Ogutu Property and Utilities  Management Section
  3. Joshua Nyangau - Fleet and Logistic Management








Published Date
Upload File